Wrestlemania 31 is this Sunday, and I am going to share my uninformed opinions and predictions with you all.

4-Team Tag Team Turmoil match:

With the Usos being out of this match due to injury, I am not overly excited about this match. Safe money would be on Kidd & Cesaro retaining, but I could see an angle where the Uso’s interfere to cost the champs the titles.

AJ & Paige vs The Bellas:

AJ & Paige win, with some bad blood spiced in, leading to a triple threat match down the line for the Diva’s title.

Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal:

I think this should be used to elevate someone from the lower card to mid-card status. I could see this being used as a way to rehabilitate Jack Swagger (if he’s even in the match), or they could plug Sheamus in here for a big pop for his return. (although I think it would be best if Sheamus came back as a heel and sided with the Authority). With people like Mark Henry, Big Show, and Kane in this match, I am almost certain that they will put over someone from the lower card. The winner of the NXT 4-man tournament is the likely choice.

Intercontinental Ladder Match:

This is clearly designed for Daniel Bryan to add value back to the IC Title, but I wouldn’t be totally shocked if Barrett somehow came out of this on top. I like the suggestion of my Getting Networked partner, Dustin Spencer, of putting the title on Bryan and having a ‘best of 7’ series with Bryan and Ziggler. Personally, I say put the IC title on Bryan, and the US title on Cena, and give them long runs, then unify the titles at Summerslam.

Rusev vs Cena:

Cena has done a lot for the company this year, including getting destroyed by Lesnar, a part-time champion, on several occasions. Plus, having Cena be the one to end Rusev’s winning streak gives Rusev some rub too. As I said earlier, having bigger stars compete for and hold the U.S./Intercontinental titles would add value to the titles, which will make them valuable assets when grooming tomorrow’s world champions.

Bray Wyatt vs Undertaker:

Now that Lesnar has ended “The Streak,” conventional wisdom would lead one to think that Wyatt comes out on top here. I disagree, because having Wyatt beat Taker would devalue what Lesnar did. Also, just being IN a Wrestlemania match with Taker adds to Wyatt’s credibility. And if somehow they have a classic match, Wyatt losing will not matter in the least bit.

Randy Orton vs Seth Rollins:

I feel like Orton goes over here, especially if WWE follows their tried-and-tested ‘even Steven’ booking strategy. This could very well be the match of the night, and a feud that could continue on and off for a while. If Rollins goes over here, there’s no way that he leaves Wrestlemania as the Champ.

Triple H vs Sting:

I don’t see how any outcome other than a Sting victory could be booked. If it was my decision, I would book this like Triple H/Undertaker 2, where Trips brutalizes Sting for the entire match, but the Stinger finds a way to win. I really dislike how Trips takes all of these losses at Mania (Taker, Lesnar, probably Sting), but it’s the smart play.

Lesnar vs Reigns:

Lesnar’s gonna get paid big time by either WWE or UFC, and I think that the outcome of this match will be based purely on if Vince McMahon or Dana White’s signature is on his next paycheck. I predict that Reigns goes over here, in a BRUTAL match, leaving the door open for Rollins to cash in and become champ.

Rollins leaving as champ would set up a 3-way title match between Rollins, Reigns and Orton (who would have beaten Rollins earlier on the card).

Or Lesnar could re-sign, and destroy Reigns…which would bring tears of joy to the IWC. I don’t see it happening.

***UPDATE: since I typed this blog, Brock Lesnar has signed a multi-year deal with WWE, so now all bets are off for the outcome of the main event. I suspect the timing of this was not coincidental!***

Leave a comment